### **Planning Committee**

### Thursday 19 July 2018

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Stevens, in the Chair.

Councillor Tuohy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Corvid, Derrick, Johnson, Kelly, Loveridge, Morris, Neil, Nicholson, Mrs Pengelly and Winter and Bridgeman (substituting for Councillor Rebecca Smith).

Apologies for absence: Councillor Rebecca Smith (Councillor Mrs Bridgeman substituting).

Also in attendance: Jamie Sheldon (Democratic Advisor), Peter Ford (Head of Development Management) and Julie Parkin (Senior Lawyer).

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and finished at 7.30 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

### 23. **Declarations of Interest**

The following declarations of interest were made in accordance with the code of conduct:

Name	Minute Number and Item	Reason	Interest
Councillor Andrea Loveridge	Minute 28 6.1.Colebrook House 51 Newnham Road Plymouth PL7 4AW - 17/02471/FUL	As a Plympton St Mary Councillor involved in the application.	Personal
Councillor Patrick Nicholson	Minute 28 6.1.Colebrook House 51 Newnham Road Plymouth PL7 4AW - 17/02471/FUL	As a Plympton St Mary Councillor involved in the application.	Personal
Councillor Patrick Nicholson			Personal

#### 24. Minutes

Under this item Councillor Nicholson raised that his and Councillor Loveridge's apologies were given at the previous meeting held on 28 June 2018 due to having an interest in one of the items.

Agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 28 June 2018.

### 25. Chair's Urgent Business

There were no items of Chair's urgent business.

### 26. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public.

### 27. Planning Applications for consideration

The Committee considered the following applications, development proposals by local authorities and statutory consultations submitted under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1990, and the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservations Areas) Act, 1990.

### 28. Colebrook House 51 Newnham Road Plymouth PL7 4AW - 17/02471/FUL

Mr David Matthews

Decision:

Application GRANTED conditionally.

(Councillor Loveridge and Councillor Nicholson were not present for this item due to an interest declared)

(The Committee heard from Councillor Patrick Nicholson, Plympton St Mary Councillor)

(The Committee heard from the applicant)

# 29. Units 9 & 10 Sherwell House 30 North Hill Plymouth PL4 8ET - 18/00830/FUL

Sherwell House Management Ltd Decision:

Application REFUSED.

(Councillor Loveridge and Councillor Mrs Pengelly were not present for this item).

(The Committee heard from the applicant)

### 30. White Lady Road Plymouth PL9 9GA - 17/02456/FUL

St Mary's Church Preschool

Decision:

Application REFUSED because in the opinion of the Planning Committee the proposed use of the site as a pre-school and after school club would lead to conditions on White Lady Road that would be prejudicial to highway safety and the free flow of traffic, contrary to policy CS28.2 of the Core Strategy of Plymouth's Local Development Framework, policy DEV31 of the Plymouth and South West Devon Joint Local Plan and paragraph 32 of the National Planning Policy Framework 2012. Furthermore in the opinion of the Planning Committee the applicant's suggestion of a travel plan to mitigate the impact to highway safety is not considered a practical and implementable option.

(Councillor Stevens motion to refuse seconded by Councillor Kelly).

(A Planning Committee site visit was held on 18 July 2018 in respect of this application).

(The Committee heard from Councillor Michael Leaves, Plymstock Radford Councillor).

(The Committee heard from Councillor Ken Foster, Plymstock Radford Councillor).

(The Committee heard representations against this application).

(The Committee heard from the applicant).

# 31. Allotment Gardens Prince Maurice Road Plymouth PL4 7LL - 18/00432/FUL

Mr Gary Stirling

Decision:

Application Granted conditionally subject to \$106 delegated to Service Director to refuse if timescales not met.

(Councillors Winter, Mrs Bridgeman, Nicholson, Loveridge and Mrs Pengelly were not present for this item).

(A Planning Committee site visit was held on 18 July 2018 in respect of this application).

(The Committee heard representations against this application).

(The Committee heard from the applicant).

### 32. Planning Application Decisions Issued

The Committee noted the report from the Service Assistant Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure on decisions issued since the last Committee.

## 33. Appeal Decisions

The Committee noted the schedule of appeal decisions made by the Planning Inspectorate.

# 34. Exempt Business

There were no items of exempt business.

# **Schedule of Voting**

\*\*\* Please note \*\*\*

A schedule of voting relating to the meeting is attached as a supplement to these minutes

# PLANNING COMMITTEE - 19 July 2018

# **SCHEDULE OF VOTING**

	ute number and lication	Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
6.1	Colebrook House 51 Newnham Road Plymouth PL7 4AW - 17/02471/FUL	Councillors Kelly, Neil, Corvid, Derrick, Morris, Stevens, Tuohy, and Winter.	Councillors Mrs Johnson, Mrs Pengelly and Mrs Bridgeman.		Councillors Nicholson and Loveridge.	
6.2	Units 9 & 10 Sherwell House 30 North Hill Plymouth PL4 8ET - 18/00830/FUL	Councillors Kelly, Mrs Bridgeman, Mrs Johnson, Nicholson, Neil, Corvid, Derrick, Morris, Stevens, Tuohy, and Winter.				Councillors Loveridge and Mrs Pengelly.
6.3	White Lady Road Plymouth PL9 9GA - 17/02456/FUL  The Chair proposed a motion to refuse the application based on policy CS28(2), highway safety. Having being seconded by Councillor Kelly it was put to the vote.	Councillors Kelly, Mrs Bridgeman, Mrs Johnson, Nicholson, Neil, Corvid, Derrick, Morris, Stevens, Tuohy and Winter.				Councillors Loveridge and Mrs Pengelly.
6.4	Allotment Gardens Prince Maurice Road Plymouth PL4 7LL - 18/00432/FUL	Councillors Kelly, Mrs Johnson, Neil, Corvid, Derrick, Morris, Stevens and Tuohy.				Councillors Mrs Bridgeman, Nicholson, Loveridge, Mrs Pengelly and Winter.

